Unite to make AZHAK work, says chief minister

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan has called on all citizens of the state to work together to make Kerala a better place to live.

Launching AZHAK (A mass initiative for Zero waste uplifting Happiness index and Attitudinal change in waste management at Kozhikode), the Kozhikode Corporation’s hygiene protocol, here on Saturday, he said “the beauty of our land is the responsibility of every citizen, and that it can only be achieved if everyone gets involved.

Listing the various state government programs to encourage good waste management and general hygiene, the Chief Minister said that proper planning and implementation, in addition to raising awareness, were key to the success of these programs. and hailed AZHAK as a step in the right direction. “We envision a Kerala where people don’t just dump waste, a Kerala where all slaughter waste is effectively disposed of,” he said, pointing to projects such as Take a Break and a system of classification for local organizations based on hygiene.

In particular, the Prime Minister mentioned the need for effective disposal of liquid waste and the importance of sewage treatment plants that treat polluted water so that it can be reused. He commended the efforts made by the Haritha Keralam mission to clean up the water resources.

The Chief Minister called on the public to follow the hygiene protocol as it affects all aspects of human life.

Earlier, Mayor Beena Philip said AZHAK was “a rocket in the process of being launched that expects to reach its destination in three years.” Deputy Mayor CP Musafir Ahamed stressed the need to foster social hygiene even though the people of Kerala are known for their exemplary culture of personal hygiene. “We are targeting a population of 6 lakh, and society alone cannot implement AZHAK without the wholehearted participation of all,” he said. The company secretary, KU Bini, presented the project report.

PA Ministers Mohamed Riyas, AK Saseendran and Ahamed Devarkovil, MP Raghavan MP, Thottathil Raveendran MP, District Collector N. Tej Lohit Reddy and leaders of various political parties attended the occasion.

Maria D. Ervin